Contents of Assembly

Contents of Assembly
In general, a static assembly can consist of four elements: The assembly manifest, which contains assembly metadata. Type metadata. Microsoft intermediate language (MSIL) code that implements the types. A set of resources

Types of Assemblies
1. Private Assembly
2. Public/ Shared Assembly
3. Satellite Assembly

Difference between a Private Assembly and a Shared Assembly
1.Location and visibility: A private assembly is normally used by a single application, and is stored in the application's directory, or a sub-directory beneath. A shared assembly is normally stored in the global assembly cache, which is a repository of assemblies maintained by the .NET runtime. Shared assemblies are usually libraries of code which many applications will find useful, e.g. the .NET framework classes.
2.Versioning: The runtime enforces versioning constraints only on shared assemblies, not on private assemblies

Satellite Assembly

Satellite assemblies are often used to deploy language-specific resources for an application. These language-specific assemblies work in side-by-side execution because the application has a separate product ID for each language and installs satellite assemblies in a language-specific subdirectory for each language

No comments: